Idea: Technical translator

I often find it hard to translate words that aren’t commonly used in conversations, like technical terms. Normally I use Tyda.se when translating words between English and Swedish. Sentences is a completely different beast, I’ll rely on Google Translate for now.

But when I want to translate the name of a city, a language, a lesser known piece of machinery, chemical substances, a software engineering concept or anything else I find most translators inadequate. That’s when I usually use Wikipedia, look up the word I want, and then check the left column for “In other languages” and the language I want. If I find it, I also find what that word is in that language. That works surprisingly often, and the results “update themselves” thanks to the living nature of Wikipedia.

A simple website/app should be able to do this with a simple webscrape.

Leave a Reply

